Home » Salvation » The Candy Cane Legend

The Candy Cane Legend

I hope everyone had a blessed Christmas, what a joy that this was the year for the birthday of Christ to fall on a Sunday, and getting to spend Christmas morning in worship services in His house!  I though last night, with my full belly of Mom’s home cooking after lunch, and my wife’s delicious Peanut butter Pie; what will I blog about the day after the birthday of my Redeemer?

My daughter brought in a candy cane the other night and hung it on the tree, she knew that peppermint, especially candy canes are my favorite, being the giving person she is, last night she brought me this  candy cane off the tree.  It had attached to it this long strip of paper, I never had heard the story of the candy cane, WOW..to say the least!  I know Christmas is over, but felt I just had to post this today as it was so touching, and pressed upon my heart.  Now I know why I love the candy canes!

In Christ,

A. T. Smith

The Candy Cane Legend

A candy maker in Indiana wanted to make a candy that would be a witness for his Savior, so he made the Christmas Candy Cane.  He incorporated several symbols for the birth, ministry, and death of Jesus Christ.  He began with a stick of pure white, hard candy.  The white symbolizes the Virgin Birth (Is. 7:14; Luke 1:26-35) and the sinless nature of Jesus (1 John 3:5).  The hardness of the candy symbolizes the Solid Rock (1 Cor. 10:4), the foundation of the Church (Mt. 16:18), and the firmness of promises of God (Ps. 18:30-32).  The candy maker made the candy into the form of a  “J” to represent the precious name of Jesus, who came to earth as our Savior (1 John 3:16-17), and a symbol to represent the staff of the Good Shepherd (John 10:14).  The candy maker decided to stain it with red stripes, representing the stripes Jesus received prior to His crucifixion (Mark 15:15-20) for our healing (Is. 53:5).  The large red strip represents the shedding blood on the cross for our salvation (Rom. 5:9, Eph. 1:7).

~Acts 1:8, Luke 9:23~

